Annual Shony Christmas Party

12 Dec

Friday night Tony and I hosted around 30 of our best friends for our Annual Christmas Party.  I started this party when I moved here 5 years ago and there were 8 of us there, now I had around 30 people in our little townhouse.  I made lots of different appetizers and dips.  These recipes are all easy and can be made ahead of time.  I will share the links of the recipes so that you can recreate them.

Recipes I will be sharing this week:

  • Crock Pot Candy
  • Chocolate Covered Pretzel Rods
  • Spinach and Artichoke Wonton Cups
  • Bacon Wrapped Cheese Stuffed Dates
  • Garlic Cheese Dip

I was a bad food blogger and forgot to take pictures of everything.  Here are a few of the ones I did remember to take.

Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

Buffalo Chicken Meatballs.jpg

Baked Mac & Cheese Cups

mac and cheese.jpg

Christmas Shaped Matt Crack(ers)

matt crackers.jpg

Spinach & Artichoke Wonton Cups

spinach.jpg

Bacon Wrapped Dates

dates.jpg

Dough Balls and Candy

dough balls.jpg

Mint Chocolate Pretzel Rods

mint pretzels.jpg

M&M Christmas Pretzel Rods

pretzels.jpg

Finally some snapshots of the guests of the party:

shony.jpg

joe julie.jpg km & eb.jpg

As.jpg matt and ash.jpg

adam liz.jpg elizabeth and brad.jpg

megan and j9.jpg josh brian.jpg

rehydrate.jpg tony and crosby.jpg

more.jpg

everyone.jpg

everyone2.jpg

Now for 2 super easy recipes that I made and would like to share.

Garlic Cheese Dip

  • 1 Block of Light Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1 Jar of Old English Cheese (you can find it near the velveeta at the grocery store, it doesn’t need to be refrigerated)
  • 1-2 tsp. of Garlic Salt
  1. Mix all 3 ingredients together until smooth.
  2. Refrigerate until ready to serve.
  3. Serve with your favorite dipper or Matt Crack(ers).

CrockPot Candy

  • 16 oz. Unsalted Dry Roasted Peanuts
  • 16 oz. Salted Dry Roasted Peanuts
  • 16 oz. Milk Chocolate Chips
  • 16 oz. White Chocolate Chips
  • 16 oz. Vanilla Bark
  1. Layer peanuts first, then chips and bark into a crock pot.
  2. Do not stir.  Cook on Low for 2 hours.
  3. Stir to mix and spoon out on to a wax paper covered cookie sheet.  Smooth so that you have a semi-flat bark.  I usually get two cookies sheets full with one batch.
  4. Once cool, break into small pieces and Enjoy!

I was able to finish my Christmas shopping this weekend and still found time to make some soup and muffins to take to work tomorrow for the start of our holiday party week.  I will be sharing those recipes soon!

We are hoping to wake up to a dusting of snow tomorrow.  I am trying to not get my hopes up but I can’t wait to see what we end up with.  I have a big week coming up so I will try my best to post everyday.

Merry Christmas!


2 Responses to “Annual Shony Christmas Party”

  1. Aimee Dillow Guthrie December 24, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Sheena,
    When I saw your Buffalo Chicken Meatballs recipe post mid-month, I knew I had to make them over the holidays. I had my family over for Christmas dinner last night and I made the meatballs as appetizers. I tripled the recipe since my brothers and husband love anything buffalo style. It made 60 meatballs. They absolutely loved them! They were very easy to make – even for someone like me who is not a cook. Thanks for the great recipe and Merry Christmas to you and Tony!

    -Aimee

    • Sheena December 27, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      I am so glad the enjoyed them. I made them for my family when I was home last week. I hope you check back for more easy recipes. I hope you had a great 1st Christmas as a family!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

