Four Way Cincinnati Chili…

9 Jan

Time to use up some of that cheese in our refrigerator!

When we were up in Cincinnati in early November, Tony’s grandma, Nana, gave us a packet of Cincinnati Chili Seasoning to bring back.  Since then Tony has wanted me to make it.

The first time he took me to visit his extended family in Cincy we went to lunch at the famous Skyline Chili.  I wasn’t a big fan.  Skyline uses cocoa powder and cinnamon in their chili and they serve it over spaghetti.  Very strange if you ask me.  I’ve only had chili with cornbread!  It was a bit too sweet for me.  I wasn’t a fan.

Tony mentioned the chili again this week so I finally made it for him tonight.  Surprisingly, I actually liked it this time.  I modified the recipe slightly and made mine a little spicy.  If you can’t find one of the seasoning packs that I used, you can google the exact ingredients to use.

IMG_4011.jpg

At Skyline, you can order your chili different WAYS:

Three Way: Spaghetti topped with chili and cheddar cheese.

Four Way: Spaghetti topped with chili, cheddar cheese and onions.

Five Way: Spaghetti topped with chili, kidney beans, cheddar cheese and onions.

Cincinnati Chili

IMG_3975.jpg

I used turkey and wheat paste to up the nutritional value some.  After taking this picture Tony informed me that we were going to use freshly grated cheddar not the kind in a bag!

IMG_3976.jpg

Add your turkey, seasoning, water and tomato paste.  This was my first time cooking meat in the sauce.  I was unsure on how this would turn out.

IMG_3979.jpg

Break the meat into small pieces by wisking the sauce with a fork.

IMG_3999.jpg

The sauce will eventually thicken and you will have your spaghetti topping!

IMG_3990.jpg

Prepare your noodles, cheese and onions.

IMG_3996.jpg

Use freshly shredded cheddar, its as close to Skyline as you can get.

IMG_4000.jpg

Step 1: Add your spaghetti to your bowl.

IMG_4001.jpg

Step 2: Top with chili.

IMG_4002.jpg

Step 3: Add onions.

IMG_4005.jpg

Step 4: Sprinkle with cheese.

IMG_4011.jpg

Step 5: Add crushed red pepper, if you like your chili spicy!  Enjoy!


Cincinnati Chili

  • 1 packet of Chili Seasoning
  • 6 oz can of Tomato Paste
  • 1-1.5 lbs. of Lean Ground Turkey
  • 6 Cups of Water
  • 1 Onion chopped
  • 1 box of Whole Wheat Thin Spaghetti
  • Fresh Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  1. Combine the seasoning, water, tomato paste and ground turkey in a pan.  Do not cook the turkey.
  2. Beat the mixture with a fork while heating to a boil.  The fork will break the meat up into small bits.  Bring the mixture to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 1.5 hours, stirring occasionally.
  4. Serve your favorite WAY.
  5. Enjoy!

It was more like meat sauce with spaghetti.  I enjoyed it and Tony loved it.  He can’t wait to have the real stuff!  We are moving to Cincinnati this summer so I better get used to this chili.  I have a feeling that we will be visiting Skyline a few times!

Time for bed.  Hopefully we wake up with a white blanket of snow in the morning!

Have you had Skyline Chili before?  Do you like it?

3 Responses to “Four Way Cincinnati Chili…”

  1. Megan January 10, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Every time Brian and I drive through Cincinnati, we see the signs for Skyline and come close to stopping, but never do! Now that I know what they have, I am not too sure we would really like it! This sounds yummy though. I’ve never paired chili with pasta.

    I did make your ranch chili for dinner today!

    • Sheena January 11, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      You can stop next year when we are there and we will take you! Mmmm the chili sounds perfect for the weather this week! Hope you are enjoying your snow days!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Four Way Cincinnati Chili… « the Sheen Bean -- Topsy.com - January 10, 2011

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sheena, Sheena. Sheena said: Four Way Cincinnati Chili…: http://wp.me/p11bmQ-b8 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

