A Black and Gold Saturday!

28 Nov

Once we got to my parents on Friday, I was able to do a little Black Friday shopping with my mom!  We went out to dinner at with my family but I didn’t have my camera with me.  Tony and I got up Saturday morning and drove to Pittsburgh.  My parents gave us Penguin tickets and a night in Pittsburgh for our 1st Anniversary!  Tony has been to a few games but has never seen the Pens win.  He actually hadn’t even seen them score a regular season goal!  I was hoping that the curse would be broken and we would leave with a win!  Here are some pictures from our first trip to Consol Energy Center.

Pittsburgh opened a new arena this year and it is Spectacular!

CEC.jpg

Mellon Arena is still standing across the street but it looks so sad now that it’s empty.

MA.jpg

The day after our wedding Tony and I stood in line for almost 6 hours to take a picture with the Stanley Cup inside of Mellon Arena.  It is a special memory that we will never forget!

cup.jpg

The Consol Energy Center is state of the art inside.  It has everything you could imagine for a new sports arena.

CEC inside.jpg

pregame.jpg

Sidney Crosby had a penalty shot during the first period.  Tony thought that he was finally going to get to see a goal but Crosby didn’t score and the goalless streak continued!

penalty shot.jpg

The seats we had were fantastic!

shony during game .jpg

team.jpg

Arron Asham finally broke Tony’s goalless streak and started a scoring streak for the Pens.  Crosby then scored 3 goals and the fans celebrated his hat trick by throwing hats on to the ice!  It was even more special for Crosby because his second goal was his 200th career goal!

hat trick.jpg

The ending was perfect.  The Pens won, Tony finally got to see them score, and Crosby got a hat trick!

pens win.jpg

The team celebrated the win in front of us.

end of game.jpg

On our way out, we stopped by the team store and had our picture taken with the net that was used in the last game at Mellon Arena.

mellon goal.jpg

We had a great time at the game!  After the win, we went and checked into our hotel and went our for dinner.  Come back tomorrow to see how much Christmas fun we found!

What is your favorite athletic team?

I love the Penguins and have been a fan since I was in third grade!

3 Responses to “A Black and Gold Saturday!”

  1. Kirsten November 29, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    And you got to see the fantastic number 24 for the Calgary Flames, a relative of yours truly! But you didn’t know you were so close to me and my family! 🙂 224

    • Sheena November 29, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      I completely forgot about your cousin. I could have taken more pictures for you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome 2011…. « theSheenBean - January 1, 2011

    […] to Clemson football games, the ACC Championship and a few Penguin games in […]

Leave a Reply

