From the beginning….pumpkin cookies

17 Nov

Starting a food blog has been on my To-Do list for a few months. I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to include and who would actually want to read it. Well here goes nothing……
TheSheenBean is born on this rainy fall day in South Carolina. In the next few weeks, I will be updating my blog with author details and a recipe list once I figure out how to work wordpress. Come back soon to see the updates!

I originally wanted this blog to be about healthy food but my life hasn’t exactly been on the healthy track lately. We have been eating out too much and not exercising. Hopefully this blog will help me turn that around and get us back on a healthy track especially since the Holiday Eating Season is beginning.

My first recipe is one of my favorite fall desserts. These cookies remind me of my childhood. My mom always made them for us in the fall. I made these cookies last weekend to send to my brother and a friend. Hopefully they made it to their destinations in one piece!

Pumpkin Cookies
(I think the recipe comes from Betty Crocker but I just have a photocopy of a book page that my mom gave me.)
Makes 3-4 dozen cookies, depending on size.

1 cup sugar
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup shortening
2 cups all-purpose or whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
Optional: 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup nuts or 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Using a stand mixer (or hand mixer), mix the first three ingredients. Once combined, add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Mix until batter is consistent. Add in the optional ingredients if you choose to do so.

Using a cookie scoop, drop scoops of cookie dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes or until light brown. Transfer the cookies to a cooling rack.

** I scooped out half of the dough onto my cookie sheets and then added a few chocolate chips to the remaining batter.

Maple Pumpkin Icing
3 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3-4 Tbs milk
1/3 cup of butter, melted
1 Tbs maple syrup
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Add all ingredients to bowl and mix. You can add additional powdered sugar or milk depending on how thick you want your icing to be.

Once you have the correct consistency, fill a Ziploc bag with the icing. Snip off the corner and pipe your icing over the cookies.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do. I have another delicious dessert to make tomorrow night for our work Thanksgiving Feast so check back on Thursday for another fall dessert recipe!

What is your favorite Thanksgiving dessert?

My favorites are pumpkin rolls and pecan pie!

31 Responses to “From the beginning….pumpkin cookies”

  1. Roberta Conner November 17, 2010 at 3:40 am #

    Ok Sheena. How could I have been your babysitter for all those years and I don’t remember these cookies???!!! Maybe ya’ll ate them before I got there on Saturdays!!!! Anyhow, they look easy and good and I think Quinn and I are gonna try them out tomorrow night.

    • sheena319 November 17, 2010 at 3:56 am #

      They are very easy. You guys will have fun. Hope you are doing well.

      • Roberta Conner November 17, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

        We’re doing great Sheena. I talked to your Dad in Subway a month or so ago and he was telling me you guys were looking at a possible move closer to home. Philly?? He said was a possibility??? We’re gonna make the cookies now. Just got on here to print out the recipe. I’ll let you know how they turn out!! Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Aleks Kopec November 17, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Sheena, I am going to follow this blog religiously. I still remember all the amazing things you made when I came down to SC. Delish – you have a gift.

    • sheena319 November 17, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

      I hope you enjoy my future recipes! How have you been?

  3. Melissa November 17, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Way to go, Sheena! I’m so proud of you and impressed that you’re getting your blog going. It’s going to be great and I look forward to following it. Good luck!

    • Sheena November 17, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

      Some of your recipes will be posted on here eventually!

  4. Dawn takacs November 18, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    This is awesome Sheena! I look forward to reading your upcoming posts! Take care and see you at Christmas! Ps. I’m soooo going to try this recipe!!

    • Sheena November 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      I hope you get time to make the cookies for Thanksgiving! See you at Christmas!

  5. Donna Scott November 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    Excited to find your blog! Will follow. I LOVE pumpkin cookies! So, yummy!

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

      The cookies are fantastic. I hope you get a chance to make them for Thanksgiving! Thanks for following!

  6. Amy Christopher November 23, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Hi there,
    I look forward to making this recipe. They look delicious. I hope you’ll keep sharing more recipes too!

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

      I am going to try and share a few recipes each week. I hope you come back and try them.

  7. Laurie Shaw November 23, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    This will be on my fav list as I lived in Dalzell,SC for 13 year’s, Goldsboro, NC for 9. My husband was in the Military for 24 year’s. Now, I am back in my home state of Vermont missing that low-country food. Thank you so much for sharing ! Happy Thanksgiving

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

      Thank you for following me. I hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

  8. Freedom November 23, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    These cookies are awsome.Made them and they were gone in 2 hrs.The hunter got into em.Grown men are sometimes worse than kids. But should tell you how good they are.THANK YOU so much. Looking forward to more posts.

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      So glad you enjoyed them! I hope you enjoy my future posts!

  9. stacy mitchell November 23, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    These cookies sound so good. I’m going to try them for sure! Looking forward to future recipes from you.

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      I hope you enjoy them!

  10. LuAnn November 23, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Oh, hooray! My Betty Crocker cookbook got lost in a move over the years, and I just loved these cookies. Did I ever think of searching for “betty crocker pumpkin cookie recipe” on the web? Heck no–never remembered it. So glad you showed up on my Facebook banner today, so now I have the recipe. Yum!

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

      I am so glad that you found my blog on Facebook. I hope you come back and try more recipes.

  11. JenJen November 23, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    My boyfriend and son loves maple bars and my mom loves anything pumpkin. I think these are going to be a hit this Thursday!!!

    Thanks for sharing Sheena and Happy Thanksgiving!!!

    • Sheena November 23, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

      I hope everyone loves them! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  12. Paula November 24, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Thanks for the posting from one of my favorite (vacation) destinations! Good luck with the blog, looks like you’re off to a great start. I used to make a pumpkin cookie every Fall also, just love the flavor, it really catches the season’s tastes! Will be back for some Christmas inspiration, off to do those last minute holiday errands, yep we’ve been eating out too much lately too.

    • Sheena November 24, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      I am glad that you enjoy the blog! I hope to provide you with many delicious Christmas ideas. Happy Thanksgiving.

  13. Shari November 24, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Hi Sheena, I am so excited to have your Pumpkin cookies recipe.. I am going to make it.. Sounds so good.. YUMMY!!
    Thanks for sharing…
    Happy Thanksgiving!!

    • Sheena November 24, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      I hope you enjoy them! Happy Thanksgiving. Please check back for more recipes in the next few weeks.

  14. POatricia November 24, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Hello , my grandson will be here Christmas and I ran across your recipe . I know he will injoy these . He is 11 & he has 4sisters ,2brothers so he always wants to include them . keep the reipes coming ! HAPPY HOLIDAYS !!!!!!

    • Sheena November 24, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      I hope they all enjoy them. I will have plenty of delicious Christmas recipes soon! Happy Thanksgiving.

  15. Nancy November 24, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh my this is so exciting, I love a NEW and refreshing Recipe blog site. I will be following with baited breath and looking forward to your new recipe posts. Happy Thanksgiving. !!

    • Sheena November 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

      Thanks for coming to my blog. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment